Last Updated: Oct 14, 2014
Public companies (companies authorized to sell stock to the general public) are legally required to file financial statements with the SEC and share information with their shareholders. Private companies do not publish much information about themselves as a key competitive strategy.
Company profiles contains key information about a company, that may include: description, history, key facts, financials, executives, competitors, and other related information.
Off campus, sign in using your 14 digit library barcode (back of Gull Card or through GullNet) and last name.
Use SU Blackwell Library Databases by Subject and Title for a complete list of databases available through the library. For Company Profiles and related information, here are some recommendations:
- ABI/INFORM Global (ProQuest)
Search for articles from major publications including Wall Street Journal among other scholarly journals, trade journals, and newspapers, many available in full text. Try using the 'Data & Reports' search to access Company Profiles, Annual Reports, and Articles.
- Business Insights: Essentials (Gale)
Access company and industry information from Gale reference resources. For Company Profiles, enter a company name or ticker symbol in the main search box or use the Company Finder feature. Company Profiles contain a general description and links to company history, financials, investment reports, market share reports, rankings, recent news, and information on related topics, as available.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost)
Search for articles related to your company from major publications including Harvard Business Review among other scholarly journals, trade journals, and newspapers, many available in full text. Find company profiles/SWOT analysis for your company.
- Hoover's Company Profiles (ProQuest)
This database contains proprietary information about more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. Hoover's, widely recognized as a leader in company data, delivers in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers and more.
- LexisNexis Academic
Get the whole picture with LexisNexis Academic's Company Dossier feature, including: company information (background, financials, filings); intellectual property information (patents, trademarks, copyrights); news (from the past 2 years); and legal information (including cases from past 12 months); and more.
- Mergent Online
Formerly known as Moody's Financial Information Service, Mergent Online provides full-text business descriptions, corporate histories and detailed financial data for over 10,000 public U.S. and international, and 17,000 non- U.S. public companies. Provides full search access to the EDGAR database.
- Value Line Investment Survey
"...Its up-to-date, weekly issues are a comprehensive reference source. Its coverage is encyclopedic, covering some 1,700 equity issues. For each stock in its universe, the Value Line Investment Survey offers year-ahead and three- to five-year probable relative price performance, projections of key financial measures, and concise, objective commentary on current operations and future prospects..." Use the Investment Education tab for guides that will help you read the reports.
There are over 100,000 Ebooks in Blackwell Library's collection. Ebooks can be used 24/7 from any computer with an internet connection.
Companies sometimes provide a lot of information via their virtual storefront or webpage including financial statements, product information, company history, and news releases. Aspects of the corporate culture may also be ascertained by website design, and the way the company and its products are advertised.
Along with the company name, add search terms such as "investor relations" or "annual report."